Advisory Group

In order to ensure that we hear from a wide range of voices we have established an Advisory Group. The Advisory Group members have been selected to represent the diversity of UK business and society and include public policy experts from a range of fields including climate change, infrastructure, innovation and mental health.

The Advisory Group will initially contribute to the Commission via a written submission and one-to-one semi-structured interviews with the research team. This will feed into the three papers examining the current state of UK communities, business and trends such as climate change before final policy recommendations are presented in early 2021. The first paper on communities will be published in early October.

In line with our tripartite model, we would like as broad a range of support as possible for our recommendations, however we know that this may not be possible. Therefore, the final recommendations will be made by the Commissioners alone.

The Commission will consult with think tanks and business organisations throughout the research process. Any organisation wishing to contribute to the Commission’s work, who has not already been contacted, can do so through the contact us form below.

Adam Marshall

Director General, British Chambers of Commerce

Andrew Carter

CEO, Centre for Cities

Andy Rose

Former CEO, Global Infrastructure Investor Association

Ben Willmott

Head of Public Policy, CIPD

Professor Cameron Hepburn

Oxford Martin School

Chris Yiu

Head of Public Policy, Tony Blair Institute

David Hughes

Strategy and Programme Director, Transport for the North

Professor Emmanuel Ogbonna

Chair of Welsh Government Commission into the Socio-economic Impacts of Covid-19 on BAME Groups, Cardiff University

Guy Newey

Director of Strategy and Performance, Energy Systems Catapult

Helen Barnard

Acting Director, Joseph Rowntree Foundation

James Kanagasooriam

Partner, Hanbury Strategy

James Plunkett

Director of Advice and Advocacy, Citizens Advice

John Godfrey

Corporate Affairs Director, L&G

Kate Bell

Head of Rights, International, Social and Economics, TUC

Kate Henderson

CEO, National Housing Federation

Kathleen Henehan

Senior Research and Policy Analyst, Resolution Foundation

Kathryn Parsons

Founder, Decoded

Mark Bretton

Chair, The Local Enterprise Partnership Network

Matt Leach

CEO, Local Trust

Rain Newton-Smith

Chief Economist, CBI

Simon Alcock

Head of Public Affairs and Campaigning, ClientEarth

Victoria Hills

CEO, Royal Town Planning Institute

Victoria Hornby

CEO, Mental Health Innovations

Want to learn more? Get in touch

The Covid Recovery Commission’s work is now finished. The Secretariat was provided by WPI Strategy and the analysis conducted by WPI Economics. If you would like to find out more about their work please contact or